Dating Orrefors Glass

How to date Orrefors glass

Orrefors used different signature systems for different types of glass. In the following pages we have tried to give as much information on the different types of signatures and dating systems as possible. In no way does this list claim to be complete and 100% correct, but it should help to give you a good indication about the age of your glass. As we learn more about the different dating and signing systems in use, we will add these to our website.

Designer Signatures

Until 1980

A            Olle Alberius

AS         Asta Strömberg

B            Gunnar Cyrén

C            Anonymous

D            Ingeborg Lundin

F            Edvin Öhrström

FB         Fritz Blomqvist

G            Simon Gate

H            Edvard Hald

HW       Heinrich Wollmann

J              Jan Johansson

K            Henning Koppel

KB         Knut Bergkvist

KD         Fritz Kurz

L            Vicke Lindstrand

N            Nils Landberg

P            Sven Palmqvist

R            Carl Fagerlund

S             John Selbing

T            Lars Hellsten

V            Eva Englund

From 1980 onward

OA         Olle Alberius

AB         Arne Branzell

AN        Anne Nilsson

BJ           Berit Johansson

EE         Eva Englund

EH         Edvard Hald

EL         Erika Lagerbielke

EÖ         Edvin Öhrström

GC         Gunnar Cyrén

SG          Simon Gate

HK        Henning Koppel

IL           Ingeborg Lundin

JJ            Jan Johansson

JS           John Selbing

KGT      Klas-Göran Tinbäck

LH         Lars Hellsten

NL         Nils Landberg

SP          Sven Palmqvist

VK         Vicke Lindstrand

Orrefors Graal

The Orrefors Graal Glass went through several stages of development to get to the Graal technique that we are used to today. Basically, the first Graal pieces were developed at Orrefors in 1916, and the same technique was used until 1936. At the beginning of the 1930s, Edvard Hald and Vicke Lindstrand experimented with the Graal technique and came up with the “new” Graal method, which basically meant that the layer of clear glass that is applied is thicker. There are several numbering / codes systems that were used.

If you want to date your Orrefors Graal glass piece, follow this link to see all different Orrefors Graal glass numbering systems. 

Orrefors Slip Graal (or Slipgraal)

The Slip Graal technique was developed in the late 1930s. In 1940, the technique got its own numbering system. Edvard Hald developed this technique further with Heinz Richter to form the Aquagraal technique. These vases did not have their own numbering system, but were included in the Orrefors Slipgraal serial number / date code system. Early Slip Graal pieces have the letter “S” in front of their serial / date code. From 1953 onward this letter was omitted, since the pieces were clearly marked Slipgraal anyway.

In order to date your Orrefors Slipgraal glass, follow this link where you can find all the date codes / serial numbers of the Orrefors Slip graal pieces.  

Orrefors Ariel

Almost all well-known artists / designers at Orrefors worked in the Ariel technique. The most famous pieces by Edvin Ohrstrom, Ingeborg Lundin, Vicke Lindstrand, Olle Alberius, and Lars Hellsten are Ariel pieces. All Ariel pieces are signed with the artists name and a serial number / date code which allows to exactly date the piece. Early pieces had the production date mentioned seperately on them.  

If you want to date your Orrefors Ariel piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Ariel coding system here

Orrefors Kraka

Sven Palmqvist inveted the Kraka technique in 1944. Early Kraka pieces were mostly of a single color, white being the most prevalent. Orrefors produced Kraka glass pieces until 1986. From 1960 until 1986 several models were mass-produced. Palmqvist himself produced Kraka pieces until 1972. We have all the date codes and serial numbers that enable you to date your Orrefors Kraka piece. 

If you want to date your Orrefore Kraka piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Kraka date codes and serial numbers here. 

Orrefors Ravenna

Apart from the Kraka technique, Sven Palmqvist also invented the Ravenna technique for Orrefors. He produced Ravenna pieces himself until 1981, but Orrefors continued to mass-produce certain Ravenna models until 1989. We have collected all the date codes, serial and model numbers that enable you to date your Orrefors Ravenna piece. 

If you want to date your Orrefors Ravenna piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Ravenna date codes and serial numbers here.

Other pieces

Since 1935 a combination of a letter and a number is used for dating.  It was first used exclusively for cut glass, but later was used in a broader sense.

A1         1935                  

A2         1936

A3         1937

A4         1938

A5         1939

A6         1940

A7         1941

A8         1942

A9         1943

B1         1944

B2         1945

B3         1946

B4         1947

B5         1948

B6         1949

B7         1950

B8         1951

B9         1952

C1          1953

C2          1954

C3          1955

C4          1956

C5          1957

C6          1958

C7          1959

C8          1960

C9          1961

D1         1962

D2         1963

D3         1964

D4         1965

D5         1966

D6         1967

D7         1968

D8         1969

D9         1970

E1         1971

E2         1972

E3         1973

E4         1974

E5         1975

E6         1976

E7         1977

E8         1978

E9         1979

F1          1980

F2          1981

F3          1982

F4          1983

F5          1984